How to Type Indian Rupee Symbol

As we all know that INR Indian Rupee has a new symbol which is ₹, released on 15 July 2010 by the Indian Government. Till now all the public and private organizations have adopted this new Indian Rupee Symbol. Also, The Unicode Technical Committee has accepted this new symbol as India’s Official Currency symbol. As the symbol is presently a portion of the official Unicode standard, you must update your existing fonts to type the new currency sign into a word processor or a spreadsheet using a normal keyboard. In the Font box, click the font that you would like, click the symbol that you wish to insert, then click Insert. Click where you would like to insert the symbol. Inserting the older symbol isn’t much different, and you can use charmap.

Type Indian Rupee Symbol

Indian Rupee is presently the portion of the official Unicode standard if you should insert the symbol into your Microsoft Word document employing a normal keyboard. The Indian Rupee is among the most entrenched currencies existing on earth. If you’re working with various currencies in one Excel spreadsheet, you will have to change the currency symbol on specific cells, without affecting different cells. You’ll get lower prices at unique locations. Get in touch with your printer vendor to find out the way to get updated printer fonts that have the rupee currency symbol. Property developers were made to pass the expense to the buyers, inducing the market to slow down.

But if you want to type this symbol in your documents or article then what to do?

If you are using Windows then, first of all, you have to update your Windows windows so that the Rupee symbol is displayed correctly.

Set Keyboard Layout to English – India layout instead of US.

1. Keyboard Shortcut

Ctrl + Alt + 4



2. Use Alt code

The keyboard shortcut for typing the rupee symbol is Alt 8377.

3. Use Unicode

Type 20B9 > while pressing the Left Side Alt key, click on X.

Using Indian Rupee Currency Symbol in Windows 7

Go to Control Panel > Region and Language > Keyboards and Languages > Change Keyboards > General > Add > mark India under English (India).

Hope you liked this article. If you are still unable to type Indian Rupee Symbol in Windows then comment below.

Leave a Reply